Commando’s Progress

Posted: December 6, 2016 in British Bikes, motorcycles, Norton Commando, vintage bikes, Vintage British Bikes

Apologies to Milton

Anyway, after raking leaves and fixing household stuff I got to put in a few hours on the mighty Norton.

I slapped on a set of tires, polished the front hub (thanks to a Mother’s mini ball), cleaned up the front and rear rims, respoked the rear wheel because the originals were just too corroded and nasty looking, replaced the rear brake shoes, painted the brake drum and then had coffee. Just kidding, it took a few days of puttering around but overall went pretty smooth. I hate changing tires by hand but at least it got done and I didn’t have to go through the hassle of dropping off and picking up the wheels which adds in a few days and a few bucks which I can spend elsewhere. I used stainless spokes for the rear just because they’re easy to clean. Not original but I do lean to practicality under duress.

Like Barry Sheene said: “I spent most of my money on drink, birds and motorcycles, the rest I just wasted”.

I still have to fill and bleed the front brakes, add the chain and figure out a decent battery hold down. The original setup lets the battery float around too much for me.

Leave a Reply

