Long Time No See….

Posted: January 19, 2011 in British Bikes, classic bikes, motorcycles, Uncategorized, vintage bikes, Vintage British Bikes

It looks like I’m not able to make regular posts here for a few reasons; none of them good.

The problem seems to be that I figure each one should be a Magnum Opus. In reality I think the idea should be to just to put something out there and move on. Sort of like going to the gym, if you keep up a regular schedule then it gets easier.

Part of the deal is for our readers to give us some feedback. What would you like to see here and where should I be going with it. At this point I ramble on with I THINK might be relevant. We’re getting some readers, but I feel I’m not tapping into what’s on your collective mind.

Social networking is “The Big Thing” but I’m not convinced it’s where we want to be. We’re on Face book etc but it seems like a lot of crap IMHO. I just don’t have the time or temperment to stay up to date.

Lately I’ve been following some smart young guns and been impressed that at least there’s someone out there under the age of 40 with a head on their shoulders. The part I can’t come to grips with is that they’re making tons of dough by selling essentially pie in the sky concepts of “social networking”. I guess young people (the ones with the disposable income) have a burning need to twit and text all day to validate who they are. Billions of dollars are made , what am I missing?

I’m enough of a dinosaur to think I should be making money by selling stuff people actually can hold in their hands and use. Apparently a quaint and obsolete concept.

Ok so here’s the bottom line; I was thinking of making some videos of installation of say a Boyer ignition etc. Is there any interest out there? Some of the questions I get on EBay and over the phone would seem to indicate there is a need for this sort of thing.

Anyway, a little disjointed but it’s a blog entry.

Comments
  1. Scott says:

    I think doing some videos about working on and upgrading Nortons would be great! Would certainly help me in starting my first bike project!

  2. I’m in the process of getting set up to try a video, we’ll see how it works out. Looks like I’ll try the basic Boyer install tips first or whatever seems easiest.
    Duane

Leave a Reply

